This year the wonderful Scottish Chamber Orchestra are sending their Wind Soloists for a variation on their usual concert. The perfect accompaniment to a summer’s evening, the internationally renowned SCO Wind Soloists serve up a memorable musical feast. There’s something for everyone in this entertaining programme, which is guaranteed to bring a breath of fresh air to the Universal Hall. Full details of the programme are now posted below

“You’d be hard-put finding better wind ensemble playing.” The Guardian

Full Price: £16 full; 65+ £14; U26/Student/ Unemployed/Disabled/Full time carers: £6; U18: Free


J C BACH Symphony for Winds in B-flat Op 3 no 4 09’
JANACEK Mládí 19’
CLYNE Overflow (SCO Commission – WP) 10’
Interval 20’
HAYDN London Trio No 1 in C 08’
MOZART Divertimento No 9 in B-flat, K240 10’
FRANÇAIX Seven Dances from Les Malheurs de Sophie 12’

The concert opens with Johann Christian Bach’s Symphony for Winds No 4. By turns jaunty, delicate and even wistful, happily the piece ends on a bright, cheerful note. This is followed by Janáček’s evocative and charming Mládí. A much-anticipated highlight is the World Premiere of the SCO’s Associate Composer Anna Clyne’s new work, Overflow, which has been commissioned especially for this tour. The musical journey then continues with the first of Haydn’s London Trios – here for two flutes and a bassoon. This is a simple, sunny delight as is the following amusing Mozart Divertimento No 9!
To complete the evening’s entertainment, be transported to France with Françaix’s Seven Dances. The music is from the score for the ballet Les Malheurs de Sophie (The Misfortunes of
Sophie) which was based on a popular 19-century French children’s book.

The Universal Hall

The Universal Hall, The Park, Findhorn
IV36 3TZ